INAOE | Electronics | Research Groups | Microelectronics

Microelectronics Group

This group started activities during the 70’s, when the first microelectronics laboratory, with the capability of producing 10-microns CMOS integrated circuits, was installed in Mexico. This laboratory has been progressively upgraded for the development of several silicon-based devices and technologies not needing submicron geometric features; this includes the introduction of related materials such as amorphous silicon and silicon-germanium films, carbon-based low-k dielectrics, silicon-reach oxide, porous silicon, transparent conductors, and several other materials used to fabricate silicon optoelectronic devices.

Recently, this laboratory started the installation of the new facilities known as the National Laboratory for Nanoelectronics (LNN), which consists in two stages: the first one, devoted to research and development of Nanoelectronic devices and MicroElectroMechanical Systems (with a class-10 clean room, where a 0.8-microns Bi-CMOS technology will be implemented); the second stage, with a building still under construction, will be devoted to the production of such devices and systems.


Aceves Mijares, Mariano
Calleja Arriaga, Wilfrido
De la Hidalga Wade, Francisco Javier
Gutiérrez Dominguez, Edmundo
Halevi Sar, Peter
Kosarev, Andrey
Linares Aranda, Mónico
Malik, Oleksandr
Molina Reyes, Joel
Moreno Moreno Mario
Murphy Arteaga, Roberto Stack
Reyes Betanzo, Claudia
Rosales Quintero, Pedro
Torres Jacome, Alfonso
Zúñiga Islas, Carlos
Zurita Sánchez, Jorge Roberto


Research activities

The Microelectronics Group has been consolidated in several traditional lines of research, and progressively has paid attention into emerging microelectronic fields. Below are listed and briefly described some of the most important research fields:

Fabrication and characterization of sensors based on silicon. The devices are designed to be compatible with the CMOS integrated circuits manufacturing process, and the trend is to develop a national technology for manufacturing integrated systems.

Nanostructured materials. The incorporation of nanostructured materials compatible with silicon technology is another line of research; this activity has a great impact, and for obtaining these new materials a plasma enhanced chemical vapor deposition at low frequencies (LF-PECVD) technique is used.

MEMS. For such systems, designs are currently made for various applications. There is a laboratory for innovation in MEMS technologies with the facilities necessary for computer-aided designing, as well as for the fabrication and characterization of the systems.

Cryoelectronics. We also conduct research in the very low temperature range, and our facilities allow for the optical, electrical and thermal characterization of semiconductor devices operating up to 4.2K. In this field, our group is interested in developing long wave-length detectors and cold read-out circuitry, which includes the characterization and modeling of MOSFETs for such applications.

Optoelectronics. The fabrication and characterization of several kind of radiation sensors are being developed by our group. Besides our interest in the optical range, works are being conducted for detection of wave lengths that include the UV, far -medium IR, and even those corresponding to the TeraHertz part of the spectrum. It is of great interest to obtain such devices fully compatible with our CMOS technology.

Characterization, modeling and simulation of semiconductor devices. Mostly devoted to the development of reliable models for submicron MOSFETs operating under different conditions, from DC to high and microwave frequencies, under DC and pulsed magnetic field, at room/high/low temperatures, etc.


Contact person:

Dr. Claudia Reyes-Betanzo

Tel. + 52 (222) 266-3100 ext. 1422


Last Update:
08-11-2016 a las 14:23 por Silvia Hernández Moreno

Address: Luis Enrique Erro # 1, Tonantzintla, Puebla, Mexico | Tel: (222) 247. 27.42 | Contact: | Fax: 247.27.42


This work is licensed under a Creative Commons License Attribution-Noncommercial-No Derivative Works 2.5 Mexico.

Creative Commons License